Likrat

The key concepts for action against ignorance, misunderstandings and stereotypes are enlightenment, information and dialogue. Many people have little or no contact with Jewish people and they also don’t know about Jewish customs, practices and traditions. Things that are foreign to us and that we don’t properly understand can be daunting. That’s why the Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities (SIG) launched the Likrat project.

«Approaching each other»

Likrat is Hebrew for «approaching each other». Jews and non-Jews should approach each other. Likrat imparts Judaism in a lively and memorable way because different people can get together on an equal footing. The Likratinos and Likratinas, as they are known, go to school classes or to organizations and answer all of the participants questions in a «Likrat encounter.» The principle of every Likrat encounter is that any questions can be asked – there is no right or wrong in a Likrat encounter.

Dismantling of prejudices and stereotypes

The project aims to dismantle prejudices and stereotypes against Jews and Judaism, to provide inter-cultural and inter-religious experiences and to promote tolerance and dialogue sustainably and effectively. Likrat has been active in German-speaking Switzerland since 2002 and in French-speaking Switzerland since 2015. During this time, around 100 encounters were held each year. This means that the project reached around 1,500 students per year. A spin-off was launched in 2015 called Likrat Public which focused on companies and organizations. In the meantime, Likrat was also exported to other European countries.

Likratinos and Likratinas

The SIG trains young Jews to become Likratinos every year. The Likratinos and Likratinas are intensively prepared for the encounters with school classes and organizations. They attend several seminars in which they get to know their religion better and learn how to respond readily to critical questions. Alongside knowledge transfer and rhetoric, the focus is on simulating encounters to prepare the Likratinos in the best possible way for future Likrat encounters.

Likrat for schools

In their role as peer educators, young Jewish people are invited to school classes to talk about Judaism. During a Likrat encounter, the students are allowed to ask the Jewish youths anything about Judaism – all questions are welcome. The encounters give a face to Judaism and the pupils can then engage much more readily with this culture and religion, which most of them didn’t know anything about.

Information and booking

Likrat Public

Likrat Public helps non-Jewish organizations to better understand Jewish customers. It is aimed at tourist companies (airlines, hotels and mountain railways) and at the public sector (police, army, authorities, hospitals). As part of Likrat encounters, employees have the opportunity to clarify any uncertainties about behavior and communication or relating to requests and questions when interacting with Jewish customers and guests.

Information and booking

Likrat International

Since 2002, Likrat has successfully established itself as a flagship program within prevention work. For this reason, other countries also look to this experience and have taken up the program themselves, for example in Germany, Austria and Moldavia.

More Information

Contact

Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities (SIG)
Likrat
Gotthardstrasse 65
P.O. Box 2105
CH-8027 Zurich

Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
+41 (0)43 305 07 65

Likrat

Une lutte engagée contre l’ignorance, les malentendus et les stéréotypes doit privilégier les notions clés d’explication, d’information et de dialogue. Nombreuses sont les personnes qui ont peu ou pas du tout de contact avec des juives et des juifs, et ne connaissent ni leurs us et coutumes ni leurs traditions. Ce qui nous paraît étrange et qu’on ne comprend pas vraiment peut nous faire peur. C’est pourquoi la Fédération suisse des communautés israélites a lancé le projet Likrat.

« aller à la rencontre de »

Le mot « likrat » vient de l’hébreu et signifie « aller à la rencontre de ». De jeunes juifs et des élèves du même âge se rapprochent dans le projet de dialogue Likrat de la Fédération suisse des communautés israélites FSCI. Ceux qu’on appelle Likratinos et Likratinas se rendent dans des classes ou des organisations et répondent à toutes les questions que leur posent les personnes assistant à une « rencontre Likrat ». Ces rencontres ont pour principe de base que l’on peut poser toutes sortes de questions – il n’y a pas de questions vraies ou fausses.

dissiper les préjugés et les stéréotypes

Le projet a pour but de dissiper les préjugés et les stéréotypes à l’égard des juifs et du judaïsme, de partager des expériences interculturelles et interreligieuses, de favoriser la tolérance ainsi que le dialogue, durablement et efficacement. Likrat existe en Suisse alémanique depuis 2002 déjà et en Suisse romande depuis 2015. Durant cette période, une centaine de rencontres ont eu lieu, qui ont touché environ 1500 élèves par an. En 2015 a été lancée, avec Likrat Public, un projet additionnel visant plus particulièrement les entreprises et les organisations. Et entretemps, Likrat a été exporté dans d’autres pays européens.

Likratinos et Likratinas

Tous les ans, la FSCI forme de jeunes juives et juifs à devenir Likratinas et Likratinos. Ils sont intensivement préparés aux rencontres avec les classes et les organisations. Ils suivent plusieurs séminaires au cours desquels ils apprennent à mieux connaître leur religion et à répondre du tac au tac aux questions critiques. Outre le transfert de savoir et la rhétorique, l’accent est mis sur des simulations de rencontres pour préparer du mieux possible les Likratinos et Likratinas à leurs futures rencontres Likrat.

Likrat pour les écoles

De jeunes juifs, jouant le rôle de « peer educators » (éducateurs de pairs), sont invités dans une classe pour parler du judaïsme. Durant ce qu’on appelle une rencontre Likrat, les élèves ont le droit de leur poser des questions sur le judaïsme – et toutes les questions sont permises. Ainsi, les jeunes de Likrat donnent un visage au judaïsme et les élèves peuvent se faire une meilleure idée de cette culture et de cette religion, que la plupart d’entre eux ignorent presque totalement.

Plus d'informations et réserver

Likrat Public

Likrat Public aide les organisations non juives à mieux comprendre leurs clients juifs. Cette variante s’adresse, par exemple, aux entreprises de tourisme (compagnies aériennes, hôtels, téléphériques) ou aux services publics (police, armée, administration, hôpitaux). Dans le cadre des rencontres Likrat, les collaboratrices et collaborateurs de ces organisations ont l’occasion de clarifier les ambiguïtés de comportement et de communication, les souhaits et les questions de leurs clients ou hôtes juifs ainsi que leurs relations avec eux.

Plus d'informations et réserver

Likrat International

Depuis 2002, Likrat s’est établi avec succès comme un programme modèle dans le domaine de la prévention. C’est la raison pour laquelle d’autres pays font appel aux expériences de ce programme et le reprennent : l’Allemagne, l’Autriche et la Moldavie.

Plus d'informations