Likrat

The key concepts for action against ignorance, misunderstandings and stereotypes are enlightenment, information and dialogue. Many people have little or no contact with Jewish people and they also don’t know about Jewish customs, practices and traditions. Things that are foreign to us and that we don’t properly understand can be daunting. That’s why the Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities (SIG) launched the Likrat project.

«Approaching each other»

Likrat is Hebrew for «approaching each other». Jews and non-Jews should approach each other. Likrat imparts Judaism in a lively and memorable way because different people can get together on an equal footing. The Likratinos and Likratinas, as they are known, go to school classes or to organizations and answer all of the participants questions in a «Likrat encounter.» The principle of every Likrat encounter is that any questions can be asked – there is no right or wrong in a Likrat encounter.

Dismantling of prejudices and stereotypes

The project aims to dismantle prejudices and stereotypes against Jews and Judaism, to provide inter-cultural and inter-religious experiences and to promote tolerance and dialogue sustainably and effectively. Likrat has been active in German-speaking Switzerland since 2002 and in French-speaking Switzerland since 2015. During this time, around 100 encounters were held each year. This means that the project reached around 1,500 students per year. A spin-off was launched in 2015 called Likrat Public which focused on companies and organizations. In the meantime, Likrat was also exported to other European countries.

Likratinos and Likratinas

The SIG trains young Jews to become Likratinos every year. The Likratinos and Likratinas are intensively prepared for the encounters with school classes and organizations. They attend several seminars in which they get to know their religion better and learn how to respond readily to critical questions. Alongside knowledge transfer and rhetoric, the focus is on simulating encounters to prepare the Likratinos in the best possible way for future Likrat encounters.

Likrat for schools

In their role as peer educators, young Jewish people are invited to school classes to talk about Judaism. During a Likrat encounter, the students are allowed to ask the Jewish youths anything about Judaism – all questions are welcome. The encounters give a face to Judaism and the pupils can then engage much more readily with this culture and religion, which most of them didn’t know anything about.

Information and booking

Likrat Public

Likrat Public helps non-Jewish organizations to better understand Jewish customers. It is aimed at tourist companies (airlines, hotels and mountain railways) and at the public sector (police, army, authorities, hospitals). As part of Likrat encounters, employees have the opportunity to clarify any uncertainties about behavior and communication or relating to requests and questions when interacting with Jewish customers and guests.

Information and booking

Likrat International

Since 2002, Likrat has successfully established itself as a flagship program within prevention work. For this reason, other countries also look to this experience and have taken up the program themselves, for example in Germany, Austria and Moldavia.

More Information

Contact

Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities (SIG)
Likrat
Gotthardstrasse 65
P.O. Box 2105
CH-8027 Zurich

Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
+41 (0)43 305 07 65

Likrat

Die Schlüsselbegriffe im Engagement gegen Unwissenheit, Missverständnisse und stereotypen Vorstellungen sind Aufklärung, Information und Dialog. Viele Menschen haben wenig oder gar keinen Kontakt mit Jüdinnen und Juden und kennen auch die jüdischen Bräuche, Sitten und Traditionen nicht. Was einem fremd ist und man nicht so richtig versteht, kann abschreckend wirken. Darum hat der Schweizerische Israelitische Gemeindebund SIG das Projekt Likrat lanciert.

«Aufeinander zugehen»

Likrat ist hebräisch und heisst «aufeinander zugehen». Aufeinander zugehen sollen Juden und Nicht-Juden. Likrat vermittelt das Judentum auf eine lebendige und einprägsame Art, weil sich die unterschiedlichen Menschen auf Augenhöhe begegnen. Die sogenannten Likratinos und Likratinas gehen dabei in Schulklassen oder in Organisationen und beantworten in einer «Likrat-Begegnung» den Anwesenden alle ihre Fragen. Der Grundsatz jeder Likrat-Begegnung ist, dass alle Fragen gestellt werden dürfen – richtig oder falsch gibt es in einer Likrat-Begegnung nicht.

Abbau von Voruteilen und Stereotypen

Das Projekt hat zum Ziel, Vorurteile und Stereotypen gegenüber Juden und dem Judentum abzubauen, interkulturelle und interreligiöse Erfahrungen zu vermitteln und Toleranz sowie den Dialog nachhaltig und wirksam zu fördern. Likrat gibt es in der Deutschschweiz bereits seit 2002 und in der Romandie seit 2015. In dieser Zeit fanden jährlich rund 100 Begegnungen statt. Damit konnten pro Jahr rund 1‘500 SchülerInnen erreicht werden. Mit Likrat Public wurde 2015 ein Spin-off lanciert, dass sich auf Unternehmen und Organisationen fokussiert. Mittlerweile wurde Likrat auch in andere europäische Länder exportiert.

Likratinos und Likratinas

Jedes Jahr bildet der SIG junge Jüdinnen und Juden zu Likratinas und Likratinos aus. Auf die Begegnungen mit Schulklassen und Organisationen werden die zukünftigen Likratinas und Likratinos intensiv vorbreitet. Sie besuchen mehrere Seminare, in denen sie ihre Religion näher kennenlernen und lernen, auf kritische Fragen schlagfertig zu antworten. Neben Wissensvermittlung und Rhetorik liegt der Fokus auf Simulationen von Begegnungen, um so die Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen bestmöglich auf die zukünftigen Likrat-Begegnungen vorzubereiten.

Likrat für Schulen

In der Rolle von Peer Educators werden jüdische Jugendliche in eine Schulklasse eingeladen, um über das Judentum zu berichten. Während einer sogenannten Likrat-Begegnung, dürfen die Schülerinnen und Schüler‚ die jüdischen Jugendlichen alles über das Judentum fragen – alle Fragen sind erlaubt. So wird dem Judentum ein Gesicht gegeben und die Schüler können sich viel besser mit dieser für sie meist unbekannten Kultur und Religion auseinandersetzen.

Mehr und Buchung

Likrat Public

Likrat Public hilft nichtjüdischen Organisationen, jüdische Kunden besser zu verstehen. Es richtet sich beispielsweise an Tourismusunternehmen (Fluggesellschaften, Hotels, Bergbahnen) und an den öffentlichen Dienst (Polizei, Armee, Behörden, Spitäler). Im Rahmen von Likrat-Begegnungen erhalten deren Mitarbeitenden die Chance, Unklarheiten im Verhalten, in der Kommunikation sowie bei Wünschen und Fragen im Umgang mit jüdischen Kunden und Gästen zu klären.

Mehr und Buchung

Likrat International

Likrat hat sich seit 2002 erfolgreich als ein Vorzeigeprogramm in der Präventionsarbeit etabliert. Aus diesem Grund greifen auch andere Länder auf diese Erfahrungen zurück und übernehmen das Programm, wie Deutschland, Österreich und Moldawien.

Mehr