«What do Jews do all day on Saturday?»

Why do orthodox Jews leave their room doors open on a Saturday? And, above all, what do religious Jews do on a Saturday when so many things are forbidden? These questions and others were the focus of attention at the Likrat Public encounter held at the FIFA Hotel Ascot in Zurich.

The FIFA Hotel Ascot is located right next to the Israelitische Cultusgemeinde ICZ (Jewish Community Zurich) in Zurich and is popular among Jewish guests. Its popularity is probably due to its central location but also because of its proximity to ICZ and the fact that the hotel offers a kosher breakfast on request.

About dietary laws

The hotel staff are used to dealing with practicing Jewish guests and they are clearly interested in learning more about Jewish traditions: 15 employees attended the encounter and listened carefully to Jonathan and Liora from Likrat Public. Liora explained Jewish dietary laws to the staff – among them, kitchen staff, receptionists and waitresses – and handed out kosher gummy bears. The verdict was unanimous: there is no difference in taste.

About the Shabbat

The explanations on the topic of the Shabbat surprised one of the participants: «What do you do then all day Saturday if everything is forbidden?» she asked. Jonathan explained that he doesn’t see the Shabbat as a restriction in any way, but rather as a liberation: «During the Shabbat , you think about the really important things in life: family, friends, prayer and food. I enjoy the Shabbat very much. And it feels good to put aside your phone one day a week and escape the hectic side of day-to-day life.»

All questions are allowed

Liora explained why some religious men don’t shake hands with women. The two Likrat Public specialists were then bombarded with questions – after Jonathan had made it clear once again that there are no forbidden questions or taboos: «Why, on a Saturday, do our Jewish guests stand waving in front of the automatic doors and wait until someone opens the door for them?» or «Why do our Jewish guests ask for a normal key on a Saturday even though we have modern, electronic key cards?» and «Why do some Jewish women wear a wig?»

In this relaxed atmosphere, the hotel staff received answers to all of their questions. «Today I received answers to any questions that I wouldn’t ask our Jewish guests directly,» said Front Office Manager Caroline after the meeting of almost one hour. «That’s why this meeting was really very interesting.»

Gallery: Likrat Public encounter at the Ascot

More informations on Likrat Public

Social

Contact

Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities (SIG)
Likrat
Gotthardstrasse 65
P.O. Box 2105
CH-8027 Zurich

Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
+41 (0)43 305 07 65

« Que font les juifs durant toute la journée du samedi ? »

Pourquoi les Juifs orthodoxes laissent-ils leurs portes ouvertes le samedi ? Et du reste : que font les juifs religieux le samedi si tant de choses leur sont interdites ? Ces questions et bien d’autres encore ont fait l’objet d’une rencontre de Likrat Public à l’hôtel FIFA Ascot à Zurich.

L’hôtel FIFA Ascot se trouve à proximité directe de la Israelitische Cultusgemeinde ICZ de Zurich : il est très populaire auprès des invités juifs, une popularité probablement due à sa situation centrale, mais aussi au voisinage de la ICZ et au fait que l’hôtel offre un petit-déjeuner casher sur demande.

À propos des prescriptions alimentaires

Les employés de l’hôtel ont l’habitude de côtoyer des clients juifs pratiquants. Et de toute évidence, ils s’intéressent vivement à en apprendre davantage sur les traditions juives : une quinzaine de collaboratrices et collaborateurs se sont présentés à la rencontre et écoutent Jonathan et Liora de Likrat Public. Liora leur explique à tous – cuisiniers, réceptionnistes et serveuses – les prescriptions alimentaires juives et leur sert des oursons gélifiés cascher. Le groupe tombe d’accord : il n’y a pas de différence de goût.

À propos du shabbat

Les précisions sur le shabbat surprennent l’une des personnes présentes : « Mais qu’est-ce que vous faites durant toute la journée du samedi si tout vous est interdit ? » Jonathan explique qu’il ne voit pas du tout le shabbat comme une restriction, mais comme une libération : « Lors du shabbat, on se concentre sur les choses vraiment importantes de la vie : la famille, les amis, la prière, la nourriture. J’aime beaucoup le shabbat. Et puis, ça fait du bien de ranger son téléphone portable un jour par semaine et d'échapper au stress quotidien. »

Toutes les questions sont permises

Liora explique pourquoi certains religieux ne serrent pas la main des femmes. Ensuite, les deux spécialistes du Likrat sont bombardés de questions – après que Jonathan a de nouveau explicitement souligné qu’il n’y a pas de questions taboues : « Pourquoi, le samedi, nos hôtes juifs s’attardent-ils devant la porte coulissante automatique en faisant des signes et attendent-ils que quelqu’un leur ouvre la porte ? » ou « Pourquoi les invités juifs demandent-ils une clé ordinaire le samedi, alors que nous avons des clés électroniques modernes au format carte bancaire ? » ou « Pourquoi certaines femmes juives portent-elles une perruque ? »

Dans une atmosphère détendue, les collaboratrices et collaborateurs de l’hôtel reçoivent des réponses à toutes leurs questions. « Aujourd'hui, j’ai obtenu des réponses à toutes les questions que je n’aurais pas osé poser à nos hôtes juifs », dit Caroline, responsable de la réception, après avoir assisté à la rencontre d’une heure, « donc cette rencontre a été passionnante ».

Galerie: Rencontre Likrat-Public à l’hôtel Ascot

Plus d'informations sur Likrat Public

Social