Public

Do you serve kosher breakfasts? Can I use a non-electronic key on Saturday? Could you please leave the light on in my room? Perhaps you sometimes get questions like this from Jewish hotel guests. Likrat Public shows you how to handle such situations.

Cultural differences can lead to misunderstandings, especially in the tourist industry. The Likrat Public project was launched to help prevent this from happening. The goal is to help non-Jewish organisations better understand their Jewish customers. In a Likrat-Public encounter, employees then have the opportunity to clarify uncertainties in behaviour, communication, wishes and questions in dealing with Jewish customers or guests.

Likrat Public – increasing understanding with encounters

The meetings are conducted by specially-trained young Jewish adults. These meetings can be held as part of a continuing education course, team-building activities, or as a stand-alone event. During the encounters, the employees can ask the Likrat-Public representatives all questions about Judaism and about Jewish guests and customers. There are no forbidden, wrong or stupid questions! Participants receive important information about Judaism that helps to avoid misunderstandings or solve problems.

Previous Likrat encounters

Likrat Public has already successfully held a number of these events in holiday resorts such as Arosa, Davos and Saas-Grund. Events have also been held for hotel staff, such as at the St. Josef Hotel, the Alexander Hotel, the FIFA Ascot Hotel and the Four Points Hotel, all in Zurich. In the health sector, an event was held for Wollishofen Physiotherapy and at the Alpamare Wellness Spa.

The «Jewish guests in Switzerland» special project

Jewish guests from all over the world have been coming to Switzerland for centuries, mainly to spend their holidays in the Swiss Alps. When different cultures meet each other, there are always questions, uncertainties and even misunderstandings. This is where Likrat Public comes in. In 2019, the Likrat Public summer project was implemented for the first time in what was a pilot season. Information brochures and, above all, the use of Likrat Public mediators on site imparted knowledge about Judaism and promoted understanding between the local population and Jewish guests.

Likrat Public is a service offered by the SIG, the umbrella organisation of Jewish communities in Switzerland, and a further development of the Likrat dialogue project, which is aimed at schoolchildren.

For questions and bookings, please contact Likrat Public at Enable JavaScript to view protected content. or by telephone on +41 (0)43 305 07 65.

  • Summer project 2020

    Likrat Public will continue to run the summer project in Swiss holiday regions with Jewish guests in 2020. Information guides and, above all, Jewish mediators on site are intended to promote greater mutual understanding between the hosts and Jewish guests. The 2020 event will start on 27 July and will last a total of three weeks until mid-August.

    more

  • For Jewish travelers

    In 2019, Likrat Public published a guide for Jewish travelers. This guide is intended to provide you with an overview not only on kosher food and synagogues, but also other important things which can be helpful during your visit.

    more

  • Encounter at the Ascot

    The FIFA Hotel Ascot in Zurich hosted a Likrat Public encounter in December 2017. The hotel is popular with Jewish guests and the hotel staff are used to interacting with them. 15 employees attended the encounter, which lasted about an hour. They were interested in and actively involved in this exchange. «Today I received answers to any questions that I wouldn’t ask our Jewish guests directly,” said Front Office Manager Caroline after the meeting of almost one hour. «That’s why this meeting was really very interesting.»

    more

Social

Contact

Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities (SIG)
Likrat
Gotthardstrasse 65
P.O. Box 2105
CH-8027 Zurich

Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
+41 (0)43 305 07 65

Public

Vous servez un petit-déjeuner casher ? Puis-je utiliser une clé non électronique le samedi ? Pouvez-vous laisser la lumière allumée dans ma chambre ? Telles sont les questions que posent parfois les clients juifs aux responsables de l’hôtel. Likrat Public montre comment faire face à ce genre de situations. Nous vous expliquons ce qui se cache derrière ces drôles de souhaits et de questions.

Likrat Public aide les organisations non-juives à mieux comprendre leurs clients juifs. Formés par nous, de jeunes adultes juifs se rendent dans un établissement, un hôtel ou même une entreprise ayant des clients juifs. Dans le cadre de Likrat Public, les collaboratrices et collaborateurs de ces organisations ont l’occasion de clarifier les ambiguïtés de comportement et de communication, les souhaits et les questions de leurs clients ou hôtes juifs ainsi que leurs relations avec eux.

Likrat Public – se rencontrer pour mieux se comprendre

Les rencontres avec Likrat-Public peuvent se dérouler dans le cadre d’une formation continue, d'une séance de développement d’équipe ou d’un événement individuel. Durant ces réunions, les collaboratrices et collaborateurs peuvent poser aux représentants de Likrat Public toutes sortes de questions sur le judaïsme et sur leurs hôtes et clients juifs. Il n’y a pas de questions interdites, fausses ou stupides ! Les informations reçues par les participantes et participants sont importantes pour comprendre le judaïsme, éviter les malentendus ou résoudre les problèmes.

Rencontres Likrat précédentes

Likrat Public peut d’ores et déjà se féliciter d’avoir organisé un certain nombre de rencontres dans plusieurs lieux de villégiature comme Arosa, Davos et Saas-Grund. Certains hôtels, comme le St. Josef, l’Alexander, l’Ascot et le Four Points, tous quatre à Zurich, ont également répondu à cette offre. Dans le domaine de la santé, Likrat Public est aussi intervenu à Physiotherapie Wollishofen et dans le domaine du bien-être, à Alpamare.

Un projet spécial pour les hôtes juifs de la Suisse

Cela fait des décennies que des hôtes juifs du monde entier viennent passer leurs vacances en Suisse, dont ils affectionnent en particulier les montagnes. Et cette rencontre des cultures est, comme toujours et inévitablement, source de questions, de maladresses, voire de malentendus. C’est sur ce plan qu’agit Likrat Public, dont 2019 a vu la première édition, sous forme d’une saison pilote. Les moyens mis en œuvre sont des brochures d’information en trois langues mais, surtout, les intermédiaires, filles et garçons, que Likrat Public dépêche sur le terrain pour faire connaître le judaïsme et amener la population locale et les hôtes juifs à mieux se comprendre.

Likrat Public est une offre de la fédération faîtière des communautés juives de Suisse FSCI, et c’est une extension du projet de dialogue « Likrat », développé à l’intention des scolaires.

Pour toutes questions et réservations, Likrat Public est à votre disposition à l’adresse Enable JavaScript to view protected content. ou par téléphone au numéro +41 (0)43 305 07 65.

  • Projet d'été 2020

    Likrat Public rééditera en 2020 son projet d'été à l’intention des hôtes juifs en vacances en Suisse. Des brochures d’information et, surtout, des intermédiaires juives et juifs se trouveront sur le terrain pour permettre aux habitants et à leurs hôtes juifs de mieux communiquer et mieux se comprendre. L’édition 2020 commencera le 27 juillet et durera jusqu’à la mi-août, soit trois semaines en tout.

    lire la suite

  • Pour les voyageurs juifs

    Depuis 2019, Likrat Public propose une brochure à l’intention des touristes et voyageurs juifs. Ce guide vous fournira un aperçu de la nourriture cachère et des synagogues, mais aussi d’autres informations importantes qui pourraient vous être utiles lors de votre visite.

    lire la suite

  • Rencontre à l’Ascot

    L’hôtel FIFA Ascot à Zurich a accueilli Likrat Public pour une rencontre en décembre 2017. L’hôtel est populaire auprès des clients juifs et son personnel a l’habitude de s’occuper d’eux. Une quinzaine de collaboratrices et collaborateurs a assisté à cette rencontre d’environ une heure, et ont participé avec intérêt et vivacité à ces échanges. « Aujourd'hui, j'ai obtenu des réponses à toutes les questions que je n’aurais jamais osé poser à nos hôtes juifs », dit Caroline, responsable de la réception, « alors, j’ai trouvé cette réunion vraiment passionnante ».

    lire la suite

  • Likrat goes Public 2019

  • a-la-rencontre-des-hotes-juifs-coup-denvoi-a-davos

  • Coup d’envoi de la saison de médiation de Likrat Public

Social