«What do Jews do all day on Saturday?»

Why do orthodox Jews leave their room doors open on a Saturday? And, above all, what do religious Jews do on a Saturday when so many things are forbidden? These questions and others were the focus of attention at the Likrat Public encounter held at the FIFA Hotel Ascot in Zurich.

The FIFA Hotel Ascot is located right next to the Israelitische Cultusgemeinde ICZ (Jewish Community Zurich) in Zurich and is popular among Jewish guests. Its popularity is probably due to its central location but also because of its proximity to ICZ and the fact that the hotel offers a kosher breakfast on request.

About dietary laws

The hotel staff are used to dealing with practicing Jewish guests and they are clearly interested in learning more about Jewish traditions: 15 employees attended the encounter and listened carefully to Jonathan and Liora from Likrat Public. Liora explained Jewish dietary laws to the staff – among them, kitchen staff, receptionists and waitresses – and handed out kosher gummy bears. The verdict was unanimous: there is no difference in taste.

About the Shabbat

The explanations on the topic of the Shabbat surprised one of the participants: «What do you do then all day Saturday if everything is forbidden?» she asked. Jonathan explained that he doesn’t see the Shabbat as a restriction in any way, but rather as a liberation: «During the Shabbat , you think about the really important things in life: family, friends, prayer and food. I enjoy the Shabbat very much. And it feels good to put aside your phone one day a week and escape the hectic side of day-to-day life.»

All questions are allowed

Liora explained why some religious men don’t shake hands with women. The two Likrat Public specialists were then bombarded with questions – after Jonathan had made it clear once again that there are no forbidden questions or taboos: «Why, on a Saturday, do our Jewish guests stand waving in front of the automatic doors and wait until someone opens the door for them?» or «Why do our Jewish guests ask for a normal key on a Saturday even though we have modern, electronic key cards?» and «Why do some Jewish women wear a wig?»

In this relaxed atmosphere, the hotel staff received answers to all of their questions. «Today I received answers to any questions that I wouldn’t ask our Jewish guests directly,» said Front Office Manager Caroline after the meeting of almost one hour. «That’s why this meeting was really very interesting.»

Gallery: Likrat Public encounter at the Ascot

More informations on Likrat Public

Social

Contact

Swiss Federation of Jewish Communities (SIG)
Likrat
Gotthardstrasse 65
P.O. Box 2105
CH-8027 Zurich

Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
+41 (0)43 305 07 65

«Was machen Juden den ganzen Samstag?»

Warum lassen orthodoxe Juden am Samstag die Zimmertüren offen? Und überhaupt: Was machen religiöse Juden am Samstag, wenn doch so vieles verboten ist? Diese und andere Fragen standen im Zentrum einer Likrat-Public-Begegnung im Zürcher FIFA Hotel Ascot.

Das FIFA Hotel Ascot liegt direkt neben der Israelitischen Cultusgemeinde ICZ in Zürich und ist beliebt bei jüdischen Gästen. Die Beliebtheit dürfte an der zentralen Lage liegen, aber eben auch an der Nähe zur ICZ und daran, dass das Hotel auf Wunsch ein koscheres Frühstück anbietet.

Von den Speiseregeln

Die Hotelangestellten sind sich den Umgang mit observanten jüdischen Gästen gewohnt. Und sie sind ganz offensichtlich interessiert daran, mehr über jüdische Traditionen zu erfahren: 15 Mitarbeitende sind bei der Begegnung dabei und hören Jonathan und Liora von Likrat Public konzentriert zu. Liora erklärt den Angestellten – darunter Köche, Rezeptionistinnen und Kellnerinnen – die jüdischen Speiseregeln und reicht koschere Gummibärchen. Die Runde ist sich einig: Es gibt keinen geschmacklichen Unterschied.

Vom Schabbat

Die Ausführungen zum Thema Schabbat überraschen eine der Teilnehmerinnen: «Was macht ihr denn den ganzen Samstag, wenn alles verboten ist?», fragt sie. Jonathan erklärt, dass er den Schabbat überhaupt nicht als Einschränkung empfinde, sondern als Befreiung: «Am Schabbat konzentriert man sich auf die wirklich wichtigen Dinge im Leben: auf die Familie, die Freunde, das Gebet, das Essen. Ich geniesse den Schabbat sehr. Und es tut gut, einen Tag pro Woche das Handy wegzulegen und der Alltagshektik zu entfliehen.»

Alle Fragen sind erlaubt

Liora erklärt, warum manche religiöse Männer Frauen die Hand nicht geben. Darauf werden die beiden Likrat-Public-Spezialisten mit Fragen gelöchert – nachdem Jonathan nochmals explizit betont hat, dass es keine verbotenen Fragen oder Tabus gebe: «Warum bleiben unsere jüdischen Gäste am Samstag winkend vor der automatischen Schiebetüre stehen und warten, bis ihnen jemand die Türe aufmacht?» oder «Warum fragen jüdische Gäste am Samstag nach einem normalen Schlüssel, obwohl wir doch moderne elektronische Schlüssel im Kreditkartenformat haben?» und «Warum tragen manche jüdischen Frauen eine Perücke?».

In der lockeren Atmosphäre erhalten die Hotelangestellten Antworten auf alle Fragen. «Heute habe ich Antworten auf alle Fragen gekriegt, die ich unseren jüdischen Gästen nicht stellen würde», sagt Front-Office-Managerin Caroline nach dem knapp einstündigen Treffen, «deshalb war diese Begegnung wirklich sehr spannend.»

Galerie: Likrat-Public-Begegnung im Hotel Ascot

Mehr zu Likrat Public

Social